Clattenburg

Just Been Scammed In Reading Berkshire, Feeling Stupid & Depressed

55 posts in this topic

Hi There,

This is my first post, I've been punting for 16 years without any real hiccups until tonight.

I thought I was street wise but perhaps I've got a bit trusting lately. Arranged a meet through **, the girl seemed nice enough on the 'phone, English accent but I could hear background noise on the 'phone, went to a small block of flats and a girl was already in the entrance area with a note book, she asked for £80 which I stupidly handed over and asked me to proceed to the flat up a flight of steps, knocked on the door, no answer, oh dear that sinking feeling. Hammered on the door and an aggressive young black guy came out going on about 'I was the 6th or 7th tonight & I'm going to call the old bill if you don't go' He was clearly in on the scam, I left but hung around outside, after a short while he came out the flats and started walking after me. It all got a bit scary, for a while I couldn't get to my car as he was right by it so I had to disappear.

Feeling very idiotic and for £80 (a lot of money for me) I've learnt a lesson the hard way.

Suggest you name and shame please.

Sorry about this Clattenburg, it's an age old scam "Give me £xx/lend me your phone" and I'll show you the flat. Girl disappears with cash/phone never to return, or in your case for a bruiser to confront you.

Don't be embarassed, just avoid it again. I've heard of this sort of scam from more than one guy, who it's happened to so you aren't alone.

I know £80 is £80, but in the grand scheme of things you are ok and in one piece which is what really matters.

Edited by Strawberry

Advertised as XX Chloe XX 2011 XX on the 'other' site. The scam happens in some grotty flats on Tilehurst road (although the area is mixed with some nice houses as well).