The Happy Punter

The 10 Commandments Of Punting

70 posts in this topic

To me there is a kind of 'pool of wisdom' on PN - a kind of distillation of years of experience and insight into the punting world, both from punter and SP POV - I am relatively new to be honest (just a couple of years under by belt) and so I wondered if drawing on the experience that is here if it was possible to draw up a kind of 10 Commandments of Punting.

If I had read something like that before I dipped my toe in the water (so to speak) that would have been really helpful - but even now I learn all the time.    

I can see a more serious list coming together and then a piss taking one because that is the nature of a forum I guess and indeed the question invites it - but I think both would make very interesting reading.

For example my first commandments is:

Always read the ladies website or profile thoroughly - I know it sounds obvious but invariably on a decent website or AW profile the key information is mainly there and they have answered most of my questions.

Another one I have is: 

Don't take myself or the situation to seriously - when I started punting I used to be terrified but over time I learn to relax and really enjoy it and I find a light hearted approach helps as both just want to have a good time.

OK another one is:

Be clean and hygienic - I probably expressed that badly but I work hard at making sure I am tip top condition from that point of view.

One more: 

Don't haggle over price - this makes me probably super Fluffy but I just wouldn't dream of it - the price is the price and I get this sorted pretty quickly if not immediately and then relax into the meeting.

I have more little commandments of mine which have served me well but I would enjoy hearing if any other members had their own and whether what emerged were some key one's - a top ten as it were.

If this has been asked before or done to death I am sorry - but it down to my inexperience! :)