charly9345

Is BDSM a Sexual Act?

8 posts in this topic

I'm not a lawyer! Am struggling to understand what is meant by a sexual act in the recent prostitution legislation. As far as I can work out from this:

http://www.cps.gov.uk/legal/s_to_u/sexual_offences_act/#Sexual_key_points

"Any activity is sexual if a reasonable person would consider that:

(a) whatever its circumstances or any person's purpose in relation to it, it is because of its nature sexual(e.g. sexual intercourse, masturbation); or

(:) because of its nature it may be sexual and because of its circumstances or the purpose of any person in relation to it (or both) it is sexual".

Sexual - key points

In deciding whether an activity is sexual, one has to first look at the nature of the activity. If the activity is by its nature sexual (e.g. sexual intercourse, masturbation) then it is sexual.

Where the nature of the activity may or may not be sexual, then one looks at the circumstances or purpose (or both) of the defendant in deciding whether it is sexual (e.g. R v Price, The Times 20 August 2003 - where stroking a woman's leg over trousers and below the knee was capable of amounting to an indecent assault).

So, if I pay a woman (or man) to spank me, or pay her/him to be spanked and nothing else goes on is that a sexual act?

I don't know the answer and am just speculating, but if the spanking leads to sexual titillation then I would say it would be considered a sexual act.

I'm not a lawyer! Am struggling to understand what is meant by a sexual act in the recent prostitution legislation. As far as I can work out from this:

http://www.cps.gov.uk/legal/s_to_u/sexual_offences_act/#Sexual_key_points

"Any activity is sexual if a reasonable person would consider that:

(a) whatever its circumstances or any person's purpose in relation to it, it is because of its nature sexual(e.g. sexual intercourse, masturbation); or